of our company
Security Abstract & Title Company has been providing title services for Eastern Montana since 1929. The company has been owned and operated by the same family since 1954 when it purchased the title company from F. E. Burkholder. In 1966, the title company expanded into Carter County, Montana when it purchased the Carter County Title company from the Anderson family. In 1973, we purchased the records of Custer Abstract Company from the Nelstead family and the companies were merged. In 1992, the title company expanded to include Garfield County, Montana when it purchased the records of Garfield County Title Company. We invest many hours maintaining our title company records in order to provide our customers with the best title services in the area. Our core staff has over 100 years of experience in the title industry and we encourage our staff to become involved with our local community, American Land Title Association, and Montana Land Title Association. Our employees have served as officers of many community organizations and the Montana Land Title Association. R. G. Mitchell served as President of the MLTA in 1971-1973 and R. G. Mitchell, Jr. from 1993 to 1995. In 2001, R. G. Mitchell, Jr., received the Executive of the year award from the MLTA. We are proud of our employees, both past and present, and we believe our current staff is knowledgeable in our field of work. We strive to do our best and continue to provide our customers with the utmost professional title services.
In 2015, R.G. Mitchell, Jr. and Nancy Mitchell retired from Security Abstract & Title Company after 44 years in the business. Their knowledge and experience has been invaluable, and paved the way for new ownership by their former employees Mitch Gundlach and Neil & AnneMarie Wallette. Mitch, Neil and AnneMarie are motivated to see Security Abstract & Title Company through the changes in our industry while continuing the excellent service provided since 1929.
of our building
Our building is a contributor to the Main Street Historical District listed in the National Register of Historical Places. The structure was originally built in 1883 by Dr. Robert G. Redd as a drug store for his medical practice.
In 1915, Henry C. Smith, a local jeweler and former mayor, purchased the building and had the façade remodeled to fit the current architecture style, including the removal of the original spires and the addition of marble and terra cotta. Smith used the remodel to show a sophisticated side of Miles City in the early part of the new century.
Mr. Smith ran his jewelry store in the building, and an original tile mosaic of a pocket watch was placed in the entryway, which remains in place today. In a parade photo taken around 1915, the hanging sign also in the shape of a pocket watch is visible.
The subsequent owners of the building kept the interior wood trim in a dentil design from the 1915 remodel in place. Security Abstract & Title Company remodeled the building in 1994 and continues to maintain the historical exterior and interior whenever possible.